Feminism is Not About Men

Just a short post today!

Anyone who thinks that feminism is anti-male or ignores the the fact that men also have problems has an incomplete and incorrect view of feminism, based off of outdated stereotypes.

For example: yes, it’s true that men are often denied custody of their children in official custody hearings. Yes, it’s true that (at the moment) only men can be drafted, and that men are much more frequently put at the front lines. Yes, it’s true that men are told not to be emotional, to be strong and tough, and face a lot of pressure because of these things.

But the thing is, it isn’t women who do this. It isn’t some evil anti-male scheme by those devious feminists to keep men down. It’s men who do this. It’s men who make the laws regarding military drafts. It’s men who enforce the stereotype of logical, emotionless masculinity. It’s men who overwhelmingly run the justice system that says that women are just inherently better caregivers (because that sort of thing is women’s work). It’s the patriarchy, and it hurts everyone. So you could actually say that feminism is, in fact, pro-male, in that it aims to dismantle the patriarchy and these sorts of double standards.

But guess what? If “helping men break free of double standards” and “erasing problems that men face in society” isn’t part of feminism’s stated aims, that’s because feminism is not about men. Not about tearing them down, nor about lifting them up. So don’t rail against feminism for “not focusing on the men,” because that is not feminism’s job. Almost everything else in this society is about men, how men feel, what men need, etc. Feminism is about women.

About Melissa S.

I'm a 23-year-old, currently unemployed college graduate. I have a degree in French and German, and I'd love to work in publishing. I love writing and reading, makeup, clothes, surfing the internet, and playing video games. I'm also queer and a feminist. I started getting interested in feminism in college, but contrary to popular belief, I've never taken a women's studies course. You don't have to. Most of what I've learned, I've learned from the internet, where there's a wealth of sources, personal and scholarly, that can get you started on the right path. From there, you have to make your own decisions.

5 responses »

  1. I’m so sick of hearing this sort of reaction. Some dudes (who are my friends even though they’re dickmonkeys) I know are deeply committed to this kind of rhetoric. And they apply it in every situation they can. From my women’s studies courses (“Where are the men’s studies courses?!” As though every other subject I study does not focus itself primarily on white, heterosexual, dudebros) to the “unofficial” Girls’ Night Out my girlfriends and I indulged ourselves in every Thursday for three years at university (“Why don’t you girls ever let us come?! Why aren’t we invited?! Don’t you think we’ll be bored?! Don’t you care about us?!” As though we did not spend every single other day that was not Girls’ Night Out hanging out with them). Spaces for women that do not focus on men are so vehemently called out as “sexist” and “man-hating” and that seems so incredibly unfair since all the spaces we don’t carve out for ourselves seem to be focused on teh menz.

    Reply
  2. This blog reinforces everything I knew about feminists.
    All ways.
    “Argh, I am being generalized” in the previous post I read.
    “I’d better make this generalization to counter it”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

